Traffic Tickets Attorneys in New Brunswick, New Jersey

Traffic tickets may seem relatively inconsequential, but they can actually have a long-term impact on your finances and driving privileges. Traffic tickets can also have serious implications for immigration issues.  Many traffic infractions in New Jersey do not require you to appear in court. When charged, the state simply gives you the option to pay the fine and accept the other consequences, but most traffic lawyers will advise that it is in your best interests to contest the charges and at least mitigate the penalties.

Traffic Law in New Jersey

New Jersey employs a points system for moving violations. Traffic tickets can result in from two to eight points on your record depending on the severity of the infraction. The points on your license will generally increase your auto insurance rates. Points do drop off after a three-year period. Drivers should remain below six points, which is the point at which you incur additional penalties and surcharges. You can reduce your points by taking an online defensive driving course, and there can be steeper penalties beyond just fines for serious infractions as well as the recurrence of violations.

Common Traffic Infractions

There are many traffics laws on the books in New Jersey that can result in traffic tickets, and among the most common are speeding, driving without insurance, driving with a suspended license, and reckless driving:


If a police officer catches you exceeding the posted speed limit, he or she may issue you a speeding ticket. Penalties are uniform throughout the state, and the fine is automatically printed on the ticket. The points on your record depend on the speed over the limit:

  • 2 points for 1-14 mph
  • 4 points for 15-29 mph
  • 5 points for 30+ mph

Driving without Insurance

Driving without auto insurance or even without proof of insurance is a serious violation in New Jersey. You can face severe penalties if you drive the vehicle or even if you knowingly let another drive the vehicle. Even a first-time offense can result in:

  • At least a $300 fine
  • Up to $1,000 in community service
  • $250 DMV surcharges for three years
  • A mandatory one-year license suspension

Driving with a Suspended License

Driving with a suspended license is an even more serious violation. This means that you have been convicted of another infraction due to which your license was suspended and now you have violated the parameters of that punishment. Many people in New Jersey have committed this infraction unwittingly because they did not realize a suspension remains active until a $100 fee is paid and they have received an official notice of restoration. Penalties for this infraction can include:

  • At least a $500 fine
  • 10 to 90 days of imprisonment
  • Suspension extended by one to two years
  • Motor vehicle registration revocation

Reckless Driving

Reckless driving is a broad category that encompasses many different traffic infractions. Careless driving is similar but the distinction is negligence rather than intent to commit so it carries lesser penalties. The first violation for reckless driving can result in:

  • Five points on your license
  • Up to 60 days imprisonment
  • Fines in addition to other fines, such as for speeding

Get the Local Representation You Deserve

You can comply with the penalties or go at it alone in court, but you will much greater success with AG Law at your side. We know traffic law in New Jersey and can put that knowledge and experience to work for you. Our traffic lawyer s will work hard to get the charges dropped or at least minimize the penalties so that they have a minimal effect on your life moving forward.